Move Files to a different folder

Get help. Get answers. Let others lend you a hand.

Moderator: Mr_Noodle

Move Files to a different folder Thu Sep 13, 2018 12:11 am • by benyzboy
Hello,

I'm new to Hazel and would like some direction on how to move files.
The scenario is as follows...
I have a folder called "MASTER" with three child folders called "ProRes", "MP4", and "YouTube".
In the MASTER folder I would like any files with the .MP4 file extension to be moved into the MP4 folder and any files with YouTube in the filename to be moved into the YouTube folder.

Any help with setting this work flow up would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Ben
benyzboy

Re: Move Files to a different folder Thu Sep 13, 2018 11:04 am • by Mr_Noodle
You can use the "Sort into subfolder" action to do this. Like "Extension is mp4, Sort into subfolder mp4" and so on. If you run into any problems, reply back here.
Mr_Noodle
Site Admin

Re: Move Files to a different folder Thu Sep 13, 2018 2:28 pm • by benyzboy
Mr_Noodle wrote:You can use the "Sort into subfolder" action to do this. Like "Extension is mp4, Sort into subfolder mp4" and so on. If you run into any problems, reply back here.

Thanks,

I appreciate the help. I apologize as my original description doesn't fully flesh out my need. I'm wanting to execute this "workflow" on all job folders on my video editing RAID drive. That said, the "MASTER" > "YouTube" "MP4" folder structure is found at multiple places on my drive. I believe the answer you gave me will indeed work by targeting a single job folder...but I need this workflow to target this directory in all of my job folders (and new job folders are created on a fairly regular basis). Is there a way to say "look at the selected hard drive, and then, anytime you find a folder called "MASTER" do the "Sort into subfolder" action?

Again, my apologies for not being more clear the first time. I wasn't thinking of the big picture when I drafted the initial post.

Thanks,

Ben
benyzboy