Finder + Things (CulturedCode) Integration

Get help. Get answers. Let others lend you a hand.

Moderator: Mr_Noodle

Finder + Things (CulturedCode) Integration Thu Jan 11, 2018 8:50 am • by Nestorito
Hello,
I'm almost a newbie here.
I'm trying to let automagically interact Things (ToDo list app) with the finder through an hazel rule.
A typical situation is: I receive a file in mail and I want to remember to process it (read, sign or whatever).
The workflow ideally would be:
- while saving the file adding a finder tag (for hazel to process the file)
- running an applescript that:
1.get the name of the file
2. get the file path of the file to create a clickable link in things notes
3. open a dialog to choose the prefix for the name of the todo in things (i.e.: choose between "read", "sign", "whatever"

I'm not a scripter but I managed to write a script that works when run outside hazel:
Code: Select all
--set actionChoices to {"1. Leggi:", "2. Studia:", "3. Process:"}
--set theChoice to choose from list actionChoices with prompt "Cosa --vuoi fare con questo file?:" default items {"Leggi:"}
--theChoice
--set myChoice to theChoice as text

tell application "Finder"
   set theFile to the selection as text
   set finderSelList to selection as alias list

if finderSelList ≠ {} then
      tell application "System Events"
         if quit delay ≠ 0 then set quit delay to 0
         repeat with i in finderSelList
            set contents of i to name of (contents of i)
         end repeat
      end tell

set AppleScript's text item delimiters to linefeed
      finderSelList as text
   end if

set the clipboard to "file://" & POSIX path of theFile
   tell application "Things3"
      set newToDo to make new to do ¬
         with properties {name:"Process:" & finderSelList, notes:the clipboard}
   end tell
end tell

The first commented lines define the prefix but I guess user interaction in scripts in hazel is not allowed (I got an error message about this), am I right?