Sort folder into subfolder by date doesn't work

Get help. Get answers. Let others lend you a hand.

Moderator: Mr_Noodle

Ok, I'm a newbie but this is really bugging me. I actually followed the example in the video tutorial about 'sort folder into subfolder' ... and I picked some easy folders (maybe two levels down from my home ... that were various graphic files. I did a date created and edited the date pattern just like the video tutorial. Ran the rule and worked great. Fired up Hazel full time and went back latter to check ... it created a new subfolder with the current year/month and put all the previously created subfolders (going back several years) into that newer subfolder. Wow, following the tutorial to a T and this is what I get ... or maybe I'm missing something that's bloody obvious to everyone else.

Thanks for the help.
cmac611

I'd need to see the rule but my guess is that you set up the rule to move everything, including folders. I'd suggest tightening up the rule conditions. Use the preview function as well to test. If you are still having problems, then I suggest emailing support with a screenshot/export of your rules.
Mr_Noodle
Site Admin

Thanks, but that didn't really help ... as stated, I set up the rules exactly like the video tutorial except for specifying ... 'document' ... '.pdf'