hazel's folder v automator's folder action

Get help. Get answers. Let others lend you a hand.

Moderator: Mr_Noodle

hazel's folder v automator's folder action Wed May 06, 2015 3:56 pm • by seasea
hello

I am new to hazel and haven't found a good book or guide yet. I've searched and all roads lead me to this forum and super mr_noodle. if anyone has any suggestions rather than reading online help pages, please lmk.

I learn best with things in context
eg
hazel's folder v automator's folder action
eg
yesterday I got caught, with assuming hazel's folder is SAME as automator's folder action. my bad. so now I have a flood of questions: how do I get hazel to action only on new items in folder not process existing files in folder (eg automaters folder action)? or is my thinking flawed and I am best to use Automator when I want this triggering event and hazel has her own better suited activities?
eg
if hazel processes all records on a folder, is there any other way to iniate hazel? eg right click, droplet and hazel rule is triggered, create a service and call hazels rule , use dropzone fantastic API with hazels lovely rules (apple script programmable) etc..

eg i am trialing hazel and wanted to get my head around. hazel definitely easier to use than Automator workflow for basic rules. more intuitive flow for me in rule setup eg all or any, nested rules, series of actions etc.. but what doesn't hazel do (common FAQ on what people get caught on)

eg OSX messaging is better as file names shown (not sure if possible to show OSX message for batch v individual)

and I get Automator has other things hazel doesn't do. so they are a nice team.
seasea