Apple Script Questions

Get help. Get answers. Let others lend you a hand.

Moderator: Mr_Noodle

Apple Script Questions Wed Nov 05, 2008 8:19 pm • by xaMax
Hi,

I have some problems with AppleScript and Hazel.
I'm quite new to AppleScript, so I don't know, how to handle "theFile" correctly.
Code: Select all
   beep
   set fileNameOne to theFile
   display dialog "The File " & fileNameOne & " is old. Move to trash?" buttons {"Yes", "No"} default button 1
   set the button_pressed to the button returned of the result
   if the button_pressed is "Yes" then

tell application "Finder"
         move file theFile to the trash
      end tell

else
      set myPath to theFile
         set label index of (myPath as alias) to 2
      end tell
   end if

If I try this in Skripteditior (with an explizit file instead of "theFile", it works correctly. But not in Hazel.
And sometimes, if I want to aktivate a rule with an embedded script (with a failure in the script), Hazel crashes :/

Any ideas, how to correct the code?
Thanks in advance!
Bye
xaMax

Re: Apple Script Questions Thu Nov 06, 2008 5:37 am • by xaMax
ah, I just found this topic: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=76

the error was in the "display dialog".
Now the code works like this:
set fileNameOne to theFile

display dialog "The File " & fileNameOne & " is old. Move to trash?" buttons {"Yes", "No"} default button 1
end tell

set the button_pressed to the button returned of the result

but btw: is there any possibility to get the Dialog in front of every(!) program, if I use "tell application "Finder"" the Pop Up is not in front but in the back, if the Finder is not active.

and a feature request: is it possible to specify a "Script-Folder". so that everytime you choose "run applescript" all of your scripts in the specific folder are listed in the drop down menu?
xaMax

Re: Apple Script Questions Thu Nov 06, 2008 1:00 pm • by Mr_Noodle