How to create a zip when a folder contains some images ?

Get help. Get answers. Let others lend you a hand.

Moderator: Mr_Noodle

Hi,

I am new to Hazel.
I would like to use it to help me organize my comic books library.

The problem is that in comics format, it is still the jungle.
The best format is still cbz because it is a zip that contains all images for an album, zip is usable for free and it can be used on some platforms (like MyReadings on NAS Synology) to stream the content to the viewer (for example an ipad) without having to download the full album on it.

So here is the issue :
I have multiple folders.
Some contains CBZ (it s ok)
Some contains CBR or RAR (I had rules created to rename to rar, unarchive, archive, rename to CBZ, so it will be OK once all files will be converted).
Some contains jpgs.
I would like to know if Hazel can see if the folder contains multiples jpgs, if yes then zip the folder and in the end, rename it to .cbz

In my understanding, if I have a rule 'Dive into subfolder' once Hazel is in the folder how to handle it and retain the name of the folder ?

Thanks for your help,
Hugo
hugoheitz

You don't want Hazel to dive into the folder per se. Instead, you want to set up a condition which matches a folder based on its contents. You can do something like:

If (all) are met
If (any) are met for (any of its subfiles)
Kind is jpeg
Do
Archive
Rename

You can get the sub-condition by holding down option while clicking the + button to create a new condition.
Mr_Noodle
Site Admin

Thanks for your answer.

You are right BUT the folder organisation is like that :
/toplevel/
comics/
Comic1/
comic1file1.jpg
comic1file2.gif
comic1file3.png
Comic2/
comic2file1.jpg
comic2file2.gif
Publisher/
Comic3/
comic3file1.jpg
comic3file2.gif
comic3file3.png
Comic4/
comic4file1.jpg
comic4file2.gif

How can I tell Hazel to first dive and for each folder to check content ?

Can I use two rules :
1/ dive into subfolder
2/ the rule you proposed