move files and create alias in original location

Get help. Get answers. Let others lend you a hand.

Moderator: Mr_Noodle

hello, i'm new to hazel.

i would like to create a rule which applies the following rule to all files in a folder (and its subfolder)

move big files to a repository on another volume and then create an alias to the moved file in its original location.

i have searching the forums for hours, but so far i haven't found how to do this. maybe it is just super easy.

any help with be appreciated.

thanks a lot
robert
robertggg

Check the sticky article near the top of the forum about going into subfolders.

To create the alias back at the source, you need to something odd like create the alias at the folder being monitored and then sort into subfolder using the "source folder" attribute. Search the help on source folder to see how to use it.
Mr_Noodle
Site Admin

Mr_Noodle wrote:Check the sticky article near the top of the forum about going into subfolders.

To create the alias back at the source, you need to something odd like create the alias at the folder being monitored and then sort into subfolder using the "source folder" attribute. Search the help on source folder to see how to use it.

I have a very similar use case and am struggling to figure out the proper order of events. I use Aperture to load pictures and movies from my cameras' SD cards. The files are distributed automatically by Aperture into folders within my Pictures folder. Once that's done I would like to have Hazel take care of moving the movies to a duplicate folder hierarchy within the Movies folder, and leave an alias of the movie file into the corresponding picture folder.
At this point I have a rule set that works fine for the task of recursively going through the folder hierarchy and moving the movie files to their proper destination. However, I haven't been able to figure out how to leave the aliases behind.