trying to renumber inside the filename

Get help. Get answers. Let others lend you a hand.

Moderator: Mr_Noodle

trying to renumber inside the filename Mon Oct 18, 2021 3:05 pm • by lijou
Hi!

I tried the manual but still don't know how to do this... I'm a beginner and maybe this software is too complex for me?

I have a bunch of music files in a folder that need to be renumbered 'inside' the file name, originally they have this pattern:

THENERVE_NNN_Version-name-etc-1.wav

where NNN is a three digit number that grows incrementally to match the number of files in the folder.

when I have finished making those files, at a later date I need to renumber them from a given offset but keeping the rest of the name intact, so, I am assuming I can choose the folder somehow (don't know how as I'd like to just browse for it in each case) then:

THENERVE_001_Version-name-something1.wav
THENERVE_002_Version-name-something1.wav
THENERVE_003_Version-name-somethingelse-2.wav
etc.

are then offset, for instance to:

THENERVE_092_Version-name-something1.wav
THENERVE_093_Version-name-something1.wav
THENERVE_094_Version-name-somethingelse-2.wav
etc.

I assume I can just select the files manually somehow so then I created a rule that says:

if all of the conditions are met
Name matches abc_123_ab12%? // because after the number there may be any characters in the name

Do the following to the matched file or folder

rename with pattern other...

//and this is where I get stumped as I can't seem to refer to the original pattern and to select just the 3-digit number to increment...

help, please? :)

(also, would be good to know how to just manually browse for a folder whose files I want to renumber and run the rule)
lijou

Re: trying to renumber inside the filename Tue Oct 19, 2021 10:28 am • by Mr_Noodle
Hazel is meant to monitor a folder and process files automatically. It's not meant for triggering at will.