Scansnap Home No Longer Works Properly With Hazel

Get help. Get answers. Let others lend you a hand.

Moderator: Mr_Noodle

I was recently forced to update from Scansnap to Scansnap Home due to Mac OS compatibility. I have many Hazel rules that monitor the "Root" directory for Scansnap and, if it spots a particular account number or other keywords it files the document in a directory tree beneath "Root" such as Cable TV. Pretty simple stuff. In previous versions of Scansnap I would scan a document, Scansnap would convert it to a searchable PDF, Hazel would spot it and move it to the proper directory and in Scansnap the file would disappear from the Scansnap Root console and would be available in, say, my Cable TV directory. Exactly as desired/expected.

After installing Scansnap Home, pointing it at my original Root directory, and configuring it to convert files to searchable PDF I am experiencing the following. I scan the document, Scansnap converts it to Searchable PDF, Hazel does exactly what it is supposed to do (which I validated in Finder... file was removed from Root and moved to Cable TV), but in the Scansnap console the document still appears in the root directory and does not appear at all in the Cable TV directory. If I double click on the file in the root directory I get the error "0 files are found in the specified content data record. Do you want to delete the content data record?".

So it appears that Scansnap Home no longer pays attention to files and directories on the hard drive and is instead, tracking files in their own database. They lose track of a file if Hazel moves it in the background. I experience the same bad behavior if I drag and drop the file myself via Finder.

Has anyone found a solution to this? Any suggestions?
dssweigart
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2019 11:05 am

Hazel can't really do anything about any internal database another app maintains. I'm not sure what ScanSnap Home provides that you'd want to keep track of files but if you want to maintain that, you'll have to find an alternative to moving them. Possibly creating aliases instead.
Mr_Noodle
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8697
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 1:30 am
Location: New York City

dssweigart wrote:If I double click on the file in the root directory I get the error "0 files are found in the specified content data record. Do you want to delete the content data record?".

I have experienced the same thing, although fortunately it doesn't affect my workflow.

Could you use ScanSnap only to create the scan and something else to do the OCR?
Dave61
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:56 pm


Return to Support