format of comments

From your noodle to other noodles. Talk about ways to get the most from Hazel. Even exchange recipes for the cool rules you've thought up. DO NOT POST YOUR QUESTIONS HERE.

Moderators: Mr_Noodle, Moderators

format of comments Fri Apr 25, 2008 11:50 pm • by soundframes
Hi,

First, I want to say hi. I'm new with hazel (bought it 3 days ago) and I absolutely love it.

I let hazel sort my files according to rules on spotlight comments (tags). I'm doing the tags with Leap. Works very smooth but: Leap formats the comments with a "&"-sign before each tag. so if I tag a file with "cooking", Leap creates a spotlight comment entry like this: "&cooking"

Now, if I define a hazel rule "comment" "contains" "cooking", it doesn't match the file so I gotta define the rule "comment" "contains" "&cooking".
Works fine so far but how can I tell hazel that it should accept the tag without the & as well (in case I wanna tag with another app)? What can I do so I don't have to rewrite all my rules in case I wanna stop using Leap some day?

It's about to getting quite a lot of rules...:-)

Thanks,

V
soundframes

Re: format of comments Mon Apr 28, 2008 12:41 pm • by blodwyn
If you decide to move from Leap to another tagging application, you will should find them able to support the '&' prefix. The '&' is supported by (at least) FileSpot, Eagle Filer, Quicksilver, HoudahSpot, and TagBot.
blodwyn

Re: format of comments Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:39 am • by Mr_Noodle
soundframes wrote:Now, if I define a hazel rule "comment" "contains" "cooking", it doesn't match the file so I gotta define the rule "comment" "contains" "&cooking".

I'd think it should work for both cases. Seems like a bug. I'll look into it.
Mr_Noodle
Site Admin

Re: format of comments Wed Apr 30, 2008 4:43 am • by soundframes