More Tips for fence-sitter?

From your noodle to other noodles. Talk about ways to get the most from Hazel. Even exchange recipes for the cool rules you've thought up. DO NOT POST YOUR QUESTIONS HERE.

Moderators: Mr_Noodle, Moderators

More Tips for fence-sitter? Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:14 am • by Hilko
I've been a bit surprised at the lack of examples I could find for Hazel rules. A shame, because I could use some inspiration.

See, I'm currently running the evaluation version, and even though I have mac-app-buy-itis, I find it hard to justify buying Hazel just for my downloads folder, trash and appzapper function. I'm a poor student, and I recently spent some cash on Journler (another great app!)

And yet I'm sure the app is capable of much more. Would anyone care to give me examples of how the app can be used for other purposes?

My main difficulty at the moment is that I love the tool, and believe I can use it, and that it might even turn out indispensable in its most basic form. But I'm still on the fence, and I can't really think of creative ways to use it.

Regardless of whether I buy it or not, my compliments for such a slick, cool application :).
Hilko

Mon Dec 17, 2007 3:16 pm • by Mr_Noodle
I've been meaning to do a separate Hazel tips blog where I would post tips, rules and examples. Hopefully I'll have that set up sooner rather than later.

For now, though, I assume you have at least loaded up the sample rules? You should have been prompted for them when you first launched it but you can still load them via the "gear" pull-down menu below the rules list.