Use date from statement as tag (SnapScan > Hazel > Evernote)

From your noodle to other noodles. Talk about ways to get the most from Hazel. Even exchange recipes for the cool rules you've thought up. DO NOT POST YOUR QUESTIONS HERE.

Moderators: Mr_Noodle, Moderators

This post shows how to create a Hazel rule that will figure out that an arbitrarily named file dropped in a folder is a bank statement and file it in a "Bank statements" notebook in Evernote, renamed to reflect its content, and tagged with the account and the year and month of the statement.

I downloaded Hazel today, and I've never used AppleScript before. But I'm a programmer, and I borrowed techniques from posts on Apple, Hazel, and Evernote forums. At a general level, the method illustrates how to match contents from a .pdf file, create custom tokens from .pdf file contents, pass the tokens in a modified form to an AppleScript, then use the tokens to create tags on the file sent to Evernote.

1. Set up your scanner to send its output to a particular folder. With SnapScan, I set the SnapScan Manager to send its scans to Documents/SnapScan. You can set this up for other scanners, and put things from other places into this folder, such as downloads of statements from the Internet. The important point is to set up the rules in Hazel to search this folder.

2. SnapScan names its files with the current date and time, which is not that useful for us. Thankfully, it does automatically process its scanned files so their text can be read by programs like Hazel. We can use text that is only found in statements for a particular bank account or credit card to figure out what to do with the file. Here's my rule overall - I'll go into the details below:

Code: Select all
If all of the following conditions are met
Kind is PDF
Contents contain xxxx xxx xxx xxx xxx
Contents contain match (*unnamed)(...)(*Date)
Do the following to the matched file or folder:
Rename with pattern Visa (*Date) (extension)