A little disappointed with the upgrade pricing

Talk, speculate, discuss, pontificate. As long as it pertains to Hazel.

Moderators: Mr_Noodle, Moderators

A little disappointed with the upgrade pricing Tue Nov 17, 2020 2:11 am • by flynn
I love Hazel - I have been using it since 2012, although I am not as dependent on it as I was back in earlier days, it still plays a big role in my workflow. I am eternally thankful for all the hard work devs have put into the app over the years. I'm also thankful for the frequent updates, the constant support of new OS almost at release time, and many other qualities that are essential in apps we rely on every day.

I'm just a little disappointed with the pricing. If I decide to upgrade to Hazel 5, this will be my 3rd time paying for the app. I wouldn't mind paying $10 ish or so for the upgrade, or an optional lifetime license. But compared to my first purchase, which I believe was $25 for a family purchase, the current pricing feels out of line. Most software doesn't cost more than $15-20, unless we look at pro software, (FCPX, Adobe, MSFT Office for example), but this upgrade alone is $20. I feel a little cheated with the subscription model that isn't labeled as such, with prices having increased significantly.

BetterTouchTool uses a similar strategy, with paid upgrades once every 2 years or so, but the pricing is much lower than Hazel's (for features that in many aspects are just as crucial to workflows as Hazel), but the lower pricing & the option for a lifetime license means that I have much more reasonable options to support the developers. BTT is just as good as Hazel when it comes to update frequency and support for new OS features.

I totally value & respect the work developers at Noodlesoft have put into this amazing software. But as someone who has paid for it multiple times, the price of this upgrade feels a little high.
flynn