Extract date from OCR'd PDF

Get help. Get answers. Let others lend you a hand.

Moderator: Mr_Noodle

Extract date from OCR'd PDF Sat May 26, 2012 2:41 pm • by Bill0722
I'm a newbie here, and I'm sure this has been addressed before, but I can't find and answer. I'd like to be able to file copies of various old financial documents. I'd like to extract the date from these documents and use it in the filename. Any ideas, pointers, already created rules, etc. would be appreciated.
Bill0722

Re: Extract date from OCR'd PDF Tue May 29, 2012 2:55 pm • by Mr_Noodle
Is the date in the contents of the document itself? If so, then you need to have the OCR software somehow export that. Many programs will allow you to specify keywords which Hazel can then use.
Mr_Noodle
Site Admin

Re: Extract date from OCR'd PDF Tue May 29, 2012 3:58 pm • by Bill0722
Yes, the date is in the contents of the file. For instance, a copy of a payroll check, where therer is language to the effect of Pay Date: 01/02/2012. I know Hazel can find the document is I search specifically for 01/02/2012, and it does. But what I want is a script or some solution to find the Pay Date: and parse the date immediately following that and be able to use it in a variable to rename the file, i.e. 2012-01-02 - pay stub. There are several types of documents I'd like to do this date extraction with, but maybe that just can't be done.
Bill0722

Re: Extract date from OCR'd PDF Wed May 30, 2012 1:12 am • by JBB
Here's a shell script that uses some Unix commands to extract and rename the file based on its contents. You can modify it for your needs. This particular script expects the date in the format: "Closing Date mm/dd/yy".

The key is mdiimport, which creates a text file of the text in the PDF. This would be part of a Hazel rule, of course.

Code: Select all
path=`dirname "$1"`
/usr/bin/mdimport -d2 "$1" >& "$path"/"_extract.txt"
x=`egrep -o 'Closing Date ..\/..\/..' "$path"/"_extract.txt" | awk '{print $3}'`