Hazel and IPTC and exif.

Talk, speculate, discuss, pontificate. As long as it pertains to Hazel.

Moderators: Mr_Noodle, Moderators

Hazel and IPTC and exif. Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:59 pm • by justinkthornton
This is a feature request. But it would be huge life saver if hazel to read and write to iptc and exif on image files. You could use the existing exiftools, it makes iptc and exif available in the command line, as a way to implement it with in hazel. (or I think you could but I'm not a superstar developer with the brains to make something as great as hazel.)

If I could apply metadata to my files with haze and use that metadata to sort, it just might literally save my life one day. You might think that statement a bit dramatic. But if I lose some picture files my clients has ties to organized crime, that I was unaware of of-course, you could save my life.

I'm sorry for the far fetched example of what that would mean to me, but it would be seriously great if hazel could do that.
justinkthornton

Re: Hazel and IPTC and exif. Wed Aug 10, 2011 2:55 pm • by Mr_Noodle
I think most of that data should be available via Spotlight. Are there particular fields that aren't there for you?

One thing I've added to 3.0 is the ability to use scripts in the conditions so if I don't end up adding this, you can access these tools via a script and use them in a condition for a rule.
Mr_Noodle
Site Admin

Re: Hazel and IPTC and exif. Wed Aug 10, 2011 3:43 pm • by justinkthornton
The Mac OS doesn't play well with the photography metadata standards, it is not complete and does't let you edit it. You have to to it via a third party. That slows down my workflow. People have had some secess with scripting with exiftool but I is complicated and far past my scripting ability. And I can't seem to make others shared script code to work in a way I want it to happen.